E2 2017 Highlights: Ubisoft

Assassin’s Creed: Origins

My first reaction to this new game at the beginning of E3 2017 was not overwhelmingly positive, but the more I see of it, the more interested I find myself becoming.  Given that the franchise is now a decade old, returning to the beginning point of the Assassins is most likely a soft reboot in order to bring in new people, or old fans, like myself, who drifted away.  The genius of Assassin’s Creed is that the game is not focused on one person, or a small group of people, but rather is an anthology that tells the stories of different people from different countries in different time periods.  That being said, I felt the series became somewhat stagnant.  Origins looks like it could be something fresh again, telling a story of a man in Ancient Egypt.  While certain elements seem a little off to me (does he have a telepathic link with that eagle?) the location is beautiful and the game looks like it could be a lot of fun.

Far Cry 5

The game that has vexed angry white men by making it’s bad guys angry white men.  I never played a game in the series until Far Cry 4, and I played that to death, so naturally I’m excited for more.  The main character is all alone in a closed off area in Montana and so has to build up relationships with the locals in order to survive.  Same goes for the ‘guns for hire’, who are no longer just generic soldier you call upon but rather people with specific skills that you assign positions and designate targets to.  There’s also a dog, which will also respond to commands to attack, because ever since I played Torchlight, it’s like every game has to have a faithful companion.  Visually, it looks wonderful and I suspect will be a lot of fun to explore.  The game looks like a lot of fun to play and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Beyond Good And Evil 2

The game everyone has been waiting a decade and a half to play.  Technically a prequel to the original, not much is known at this stage.  But after the trailer at the Ubisoft conference, two of the developers came onto the stage and their love and enthusiasm for the project was clear for all to see.  It’s hard not to be excited for the games eventually released.

Leave a Reply

