E3 2016 Highlights [Bethesda/Ubisoft/EA]

Skyrim: Special Edition:

Of all the game trailers I’ve seen at E3 so far, this is the one I know I’ll be getting, which is weird, because it’s a game I’ve already played.  But I defy anyone who looks at the visual upgrade Skyrim has received and doesn’t immediately want to dive back in.  It’s not just that the graphics are nicer looking, it’s that they bring the world to life all the more.  The shot of Solitude against a sunrise was what nailed it for me.

Dishonored 2:

I didn’t play the original and now I am wondering: why not?  I mean, stealthy, ninja, fantasy magic based combat against a steam punk background? What’s not to like?  The method of travelling around the city looks like a lot of fun, and that steampunk city looks like a really interesting place to explore.  There’s also the option to play as one of two characters, and I already know I’ll be playing as the kick arse empress.

Ghost Recon: Wildlands:

It’s been a long time since I played a Ghost Recon game, and they seem to have changed a lot since them.  The combination of stealth and action looks really good, but what really struck me was how fun it looks.  So many of these military games tend to take themselves far too seriously, but this one looks like something I could actually have fun with.

Wild Dogs 2:

Didn’t play the first one, but this looks interesting.  The game revolves around a hacker who can manipulate the electronics around him, from something as small as a mobile phone to as big as a car.  The gameplay footage mostly shows this being used to aid the player as they go through a mission, but I do have to wonder, is it possible to use this ability to be a bit naughty?

Fe:

It’s nice to see an Indie game being highlighted amoung all the big budget games.  Fe is a game which tells its story without words, instead focusing on the music and the unique songs of each creature in the game.  The art style is absolutely beautiful and the playable character is adorable.  This will be one to keep an eye on.

Battlefield 1:

About a decade ago I thought about how I’d like Call of Duty to go back in time to the First World War.  There have been some first person shooters in the setting before and I’ve pretty much ignored them, but  Battlefield 1 caught my attention and may be worth checking out.  It will be interesting, in a post Modern Warfare gaming world, to go back to slower weapons.  My only concern is that they may turn it into some kind of cowboy adventure, which should not be the kind of tone used in something set in the First World War.

Leave a Reply

